Daily Affirmation: “I heard the voice of the Lord…”

Oswald Chambers in his classic devotional book “My Upmost for His Highest” spoke to the whole issue of God’s calling on our lives reflecting on Isaiah’s trans-formative  experience of being called to be a prophet during the dark days after the death of King Uzziah and his being taken up into the very throne room of God himself.

Chambers reflected:

“The call of God is not a reflection of my nature; my personal desires and temperament are of no consideration. As long as I dwell on my own qualities and traits and think about what I am suited for, I will never hear the call of God. But when God brings me into a right relationship with Himself, I will be in the same condition as Isaiah was. Isaiah was so attuned to God, because of the great crisis he had just endured, that the call of God penetrated his soul. The majority of us cannot hear anything but ourselves….”

I wonder how many times I had confused my desires and aspirations to be the voice of God when it was nothing more than my own ego and ambition. How many times has God had to stand in my way to keep me from going the wrong way like the angel in the path of Balaam’s donkey? Too often we hear what we want to hear. We see what we want to see, and we call our own selfishness spirituality.

I pray today I will be “profoundly changed” from the inside out, so that I hear clearly the voice of the Spirit living within me. As Jesus said so aptly:

My sheep hear my voice, and I know them, and they follow me. (John 10:17)

Whose voice stirs your heart today?

 

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Daily Affirmations, Devotion, Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

