Class of 2013

Young fresh-faced graduates adored in black robes and funny square hats fill college campuses across the land like the wild flowers of spring. Cash-strapped parents sitting next to glowing grandparents fill auditoriums from sea to shining sea celebrating college commencement ceremonies watching their sons and daughters walk across the stage in this ancient rite of passage walking straight into an exciting and uncertain future.

Over the past two weekends I have had a front row seat to all these festivities and dramas. Two of my girls graduated from college this weekend to their great joy and to my pride. Jamie, my third daughter, graduated from Dallas Baptist University with a Bachelor of Arts degree in English. In addition my lovely wife Robyn graduated from the University of Texas El Paso with her master’s degree in Interdisciplinary studies with a focus on French and Linguistics. I am so proud!

On a humorous note, Jim Caylor pointed out to me that Robyn was getting “hooded”—you get it—“Robyn Hood.” I love a good play on words, but just so you know my dear wife will not be joining “Little John” on a crime spree to steal from the rich to give to the poor. The good news is Robyn will be teaching English for Howard Payne this fall!

Meanwhile Jamie like most college graduates will be looking for a job. Unfortunately the job market for college graduates looks as bleak as the chance of rain across the desert of Far West Texas. The unemployment rate for 20-24 year olds stands at 13.1% while the national rate has settled in at 7.5%.
Sadly even the graduates who land jobs will often be under employed. For instance in 2012, 53.6% or 1.5 million young adults with bachelor degrees found themselves unemployed or underemployed waiting tables, working behind the counter, or preparing your latte.

In a last ditch effort to delay the inevitable many graduates just keep on going to school seeking graduate degrees in hopes of changing their fortunes. As a father of a college graduate I must confess this situation has force me to my knees in prayer for Jamie and the Class of 2013.

On the bright side, my years of experience have taught me some great lessons about life. One huge lesson I have learned revolves around exchanging my worries for His promises. Jesus taught his followers to trust Him one day at a time, and to never worry.

Worrying about tomorrow in Jesus’ book makes no sense at all. In the Sermon on the Mount, He drove this point home time and time again. For instance, in the Lord ’s Prayer He taught us to pray “give us this day our daily bread.” In other words, Jesus wants us to trust Him one day at a time for food on the table. For most of us this seems almost foolish, but in reality it is faith.

Later, Jesus made this bold observation when He said, “Do not worry about tomorrow, for tomorrow will worry about itself.” In simple terms, learn to live in the present. Trust God for today. Leave your tomorrows in His hands. I don’t know what tomorrow will bring, but I do know who holds tomorrow in His hand. Knowing this will help me sleep well tonight!

NOTE: My daughter Jamie got a job in El Paso working for a local relator and friend, Patrick Tuttle. We are so proud of her and thankful for this opportunity to have her back in El Paso.

Leave a comment

Filed under El Paso Journal, FBC El Paso, First Look

Leave a Reply

