A Good Choice for Children: Eron Green to South Texas Children’s Home

Hallway conversations at church for a pastor come in all kinds of shapes and forms. In the hallway a pastor learns everything from the condition of the restrooms to the quality of his sermon. A few days ago I had one of those conversations that brings a smile to my face.

When I saw Rod walking down the hall I could tell he had a skip in his step. He greeted me with a smile and asked if I read the article. I confessed my ignorance and with a smile on his face Rod informed me his son-in-law Eron Green had just been named the director of the South Texas Children’s Home to fill the shoes left by Todd Roberson. As he spoke my mind raced by to a conversation I had with Eron and his wife Shelley. They were visiting in El Paso, and Eron asked to visit with me about this position and the lay of the land in Texas. Since they would be moving from Florida, they had many questions about the Baptist family in Texas. They had heard rumors but they wanted to talk with someone who they hoped would shoot straight with them.

The hour we spent together inspired me, and I whispered a prayer that God would open the door. Eron and Shelley possess the qualities we long for in young leaders. They love the Lord. They love each other. They love children. They love serving others. I am thrilled that South Texas Children’s Home will have a leader at the helm who embodies the best of what it means to follow Jesus and serve others.

In the Baptist Standard, Eron summarized his vision as follows:

“My heart is to help children and families through the saving message of Christ…”

Too often we make life and ministry far too complicated.  Helping children and families make all the difference in the world. Eron understands he is not the savior of the world–Jesus is! We would all be wise to keep in perspective we are the helpers and Jesus is the Savior.

Jesus observed:

“Whoever welcomes this little child in my name welcomes me; and whoever welcomes me welcomes the one who sent me…” Luke 9:48 NIV

Add Eron and Shelley and their little ones to your prayer list and they become the hands and feet of Jesus for the children of South Texas.

Leave a comment

Filed under BGCT, FBC El Paso

Leave a Reply

