The God of the Cross

This morning as I was reading the El Paso Times I came across a grisly story of darkness rearing its ugly head. It appears one of the waring cartels in Juarez decided to send a message to its enemies by leaving the severed head and hands of one of its victims on the hood of a SUV. This kind of inhumanity still troubles me.

As I was pondering this dark image in my mind, I read the following statement of John Stott:

“I could never myself believe in God, if it were not for the cross. The only God I believe in is the one Nietzsche ridiculed as ‘God on the Cross.’ In a real world of pain, how could one worship a God who is immune to it?”

The cross of Jesus screams out to the world that we worship and serve a God who not only knows our pain, but shares it. He knows the sting of hatred, and lashes of rejection. He felt the searing pain of suffering on our behalf. God is not indifferent to our suffering He shares it.

Leave a comment

Filed under Border Journal, El Paso Journal

Leave a Reply

