A Reality Check for Bloggers

On Friday, the “Armstrong and Getty” radio show from San Francisco received an email from one of their listeners named Charles. With keen insight, Charles explained the world of blogging as follows:

Never before have so many people with so little to say–said so much to so few!

Ouch! The truth hurts and stings when it hits close to home.

From another perspective Scott Adams observes:

“I think the pleasure of completed work is what makes blogging so popular. You have to believe most bloggers have few if any actual readers. The writers are in it for other reasons. Blogging is like work, but without coworkers thwarting you at every turn. All you get is the pleasure of a completed task.” (Scott Adams)

One of my favorite authors Malcolm Gladwell made this observation:

“Without the New York Times, there is no blog community. They’d have nothing to blog about.” (Malcolm Gladwell)

Since my wife Robyn is a daily reader of the Times, I would have to agree with his sentiments.

Personally I would have loved to read a blog written by the Apostle Paul. Could you imagine how he would have bright light to the world wide web? In this discussion I suspect he might have said:

For by the grace given me I say to every one of you: Do not think of yourself more highly than you ought, but rather think of yourself with sober judgment, in accordance with the faith God has distributed to each of you. Romans 12:3 NIV

Today I am going to let Jesus have the final word on the subject.

The good man brings good things out of the good stored up in his heart, and the evil man brings evil things out of the evil stored up in his heart. For out of the overflow of his heart his mouth speaks. Luke 6:45 NIV

Next time I wonder about the condition of my heart–I might do well to read my blog and take a good long look at my heart on display for the world to see.

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Devotion

Leave a Reply

