“322”

Numbers tell all kinds of stories. During the hot month of August 2010 three hundred and twenty-two people died on the bloody streets of Juarez just a stone’s throw from the relative safety of El Paso.

When I sit in my study I can look out the window and see on the horizon the streets of Juarez. It staggers the imagination how greed, revenge, money, drugs and corruption can transform a city from a community into a war zone.

Yesterday in the boardroom of the mayor of El Paso, I gathered with Mayor John Cook and other religious leaders praying for God to move and to bring peace. Our prayer simply put is “no mas voilencia”–NO MORE VIOLENCE.

Recently I was reading in Ezekiel and stumbled across this prophecy to Sidon.

‘This is what the Sovereign LORD says:
” ‘I am against you, O Sidon,
and I will gain glory within you.
They will know that I am the LORD,
when I inflict punishment on her
and show myself holy within her.

23 I will send a plague upon her
and make blood flow in her streets.
The slain will fall within her,
with the sword against her on every side.
Then they will know that I am the LORD.

As I read these words I realized that in the past the LORD used the bloody consequences of our sin to point our vividly how much we need a Savior. The LORD declared through Ezekiel:

“I will gain glory within you–they will know I am the LORD”

I am praying for the glory of God to fall on our violent border. As the world watches wringing its hands I pray we will lift our hands in prayer. Pray. Pray. Pray for the world to know Jesus in LORD–He alone is the prince of peace.

1 Comment

Filed under Border Journal, Uncategorized

One response to ““322”

Leave a Reply

