“Whose Am I?”–First Leadership Question

Recently I was reviewing Ken Blanchard & Phil Hodges book Lead Like Jesus. These two leadership writers took a hard look at the leadership style and principles of Jesus.

At the beginning of the book they noted the importance of “Personal Leadership”–or in other words–before you can lead others you must learn to lead yourself.

Blanchard noted:

Effective leadership starts on the inside

One of the key questions as one takes a hard long look in the leadership mirror is the question: “Whose am I?” or “Whom are you trying to please?”

Much of my early success in ministry revolved around my “people pleasing skills.” I tried to be everything to everybody to my own personal demise and to the limitation to the churches I served. When the many voices around you give cadence to your steps, you will find yourself stumbling around chasing after purpose that slips through your fingers. You will also struggle with finding love, because you will be haunted with the question of whether people love you for who you are or simply for what you do for them.

Jesus had this issue settled from the very beginning. In John 4 when His disciples returned with lunch to find Jesus speaking to the Samaritan woman. The disciples urged him to eat, but Jesus replied,

“I have food to eat that you know nothing about.”

As usual the disciples missed the point thinking Jesus had already had lunch. So Jesus emphasized the point by saying:

“My food is to do the will of him who sent me and to finish his work.”

Jesus knew “Whose he was?” He served His Father. We would be wise to follow His example. His voice and His voice alone should set the course of our lives.

In your struggle to lead…especially leading yourself. Never forget “Whose you are?” You belong to Jesus. I can think of no one better to serve. May His smile light your path.

Leave a comment

Filed under Devotion

Leave a Reply

