A Word of Encouragement

A few days ago I receive a card from a fellow pastor. Jay Smith serves as pastor of First Baptist Church of Clifton. He noted in his card that I had recently moved to El Paso. He also promised his prayer support during my transition to a new assignment on the Border.

As I read the card it was so encouraging to know Jay was praying for me. I am learning more and more that we are all in this together. However it was his closing comments that struck a deep chord with me.

Jay wrote:

“Be strong and courageous. Do not be terrified; do not be discouraged, for the LORD your God will be with you wherever you go”

Little did Jay know that it was these very words that God used to turn my heart toward El Paso and Juarez. When I read the card, I had to put it down as I marveled at the hand of our LORD.

I am learning God oversees every detail of my life. I am secure in His hand, and He has thousands upon thousands of His loyal followers who are ready at a moment’s notice to bless you if you will just keep your eyes on Him.

I owe a debt of gratitude to Jay, and to my LORD.

Leave a comment

Filed under BGCT Presidential Journal, Devotion

Leave a Reply

