Good

Last week as I was preparing for Bill Wright’s funeral I reflected on his life and ministry. Bill was a bold, loving, direct leader who challenged others to live with abandonment. For some he was too gruff and confrontation, but to me he was good and passionate. As I reflected on his character I was reminded of the words of C.S. Lewis:

“Safe? Who said anything about safe? ‘Course he isn’t safe. But he’s good. He’s the King, I tell you.” – C.S. Lewis, The Lion, The Witch, and The Wardrobe

Our Lord Jesus, the Lion of Judah, was far from safe. Lewis used the lion Aslan to bring out the courage, presence, and life of Jesus in this amazing children’s story. The theology is incredible. Bill captured this part of Jesus’ character well. Jesus was not the Mister Rodgers of my childhood dressed in a sweater and tennis shoes. Jesus was a dangerous man who challenged the deadly orthodox of his day, and spoke of His Kingdom with bold colors.

In this day of transition and lightning fast change as the world is getting flatter and smaller, as followers of Jesus we would be wise to learn the secret of being “dangerous—and good!”

See these words of Jesus through new eyes:

“Do not suppose that I have come to bring peace to the earth. I did not come to bring peace, but a sword. 35 For I have come to turn
“‘a man against his father,
a daughter against her mother,
a daughter-in-law against her mother-in-law–
36 a man’s enemies will be the members of his own
household.’

37 “Anyone who loves his father or mother more than me is not worthy of me; anyone who loves his son or daughter more than me is not worthy of me; 38 and anyone who does not take his cross and follow me is not worthy of me. 39 Whoever finds his life will lose it, and whoever loses his life for my sake will find it.

Matt 10:34-39 (NIV)

Leave a comment

Filed under Bill Wright, Devotion

Leave a Reply

