Spiritual Warfare:The Battle for His Glory (1)

10 Finally, be strong in the Lord and in his mighty power. 11 Put on the full armor of God so that you can take your stand against the devil’s schemes. 12 For our struggle is not against flesh and blood, but against the rulers, against the authorities, against the powers of this dark world and against the spiritual forces of evil in the heavenly realms. Eph 6:10-12 (NIV)

Over the past few days, my heart and mind have been drawn toward the dark realities of the spiritual war raging all around us. Since being elected president of the Baptist General Convention of Texas I must admit I have experience on a personal and professional level struggles unlike any I had ever encountered. There were times that I felt like a huge target was on my back, or a sign that read “kick me!” I have received more unsigned “hate mail” from church members and death threats from critics than all twenty-seven years of my ministry combined.

What was supposed to be one of the best years of my life and career became one of my greatest years of struggle and uncertainty. Don’t get me wrong I have seen God do amazing things. I have seen walls of separation being dismantled and the stones turned into bridges of reconciliation and mobilization. I have seen many come to faith and Christ, and huge victories won, but not without cost.

During the Southern Baptist Convention in Louisville, I had the opportunity to participate in a breakfast meeting with leaders from the IMB and Dr. Jerry Rankin. As a parting gift from the meeting, Dr. Rankin gave each of us one of his new books entitled: Spiritual Warfare, The Battle for God’s Glory. This week I began to read the book and felt compelled to share my thoughts and observations. In addition, this coming week Dr. D.L. Lowrie, my father, will be leading our church in a Spiritual Warfare conference. I am looking forward to learning more about this war ranging all around us, and how I can be much more effective on the front lines.

One statement early in Dr. Rankin’s book that challenged me was:

“Satan’s primary objective is to rob God of His glory in our lives.”

Glorifying God needs to be our passion and objective with every breath. I fear instead of advancing the renown of our LORD, we have causes His name and reputation to be hurt and hindered. It’s my prayer that my life and influence will proclaim His glory. I hope you will join me in this quest for His glory.

7 Comments

Filed under Spiritual Warfare: The Battle for His Glory

7 responses to “Spiritual Warfare:The Battle for His Glory (1)

  1. Ernie

    David,

    I am sorry you are getting shot at by both sides. I am sorry but not suprised. You are doing a great work. May God continue to bless you in all you do for Him.

    Ernie McCoulskey

  2. Lee

    So, I guess now is not the time to ask you whether you plan to run for a second term?

    You’ve done a remarkable job as convention president, and my prayers are with you.

  3. Ernie and Lee,

    Thanks for the encouragement. I covet your prayers. Robyn and I will be making a decision about our willingness to serve by August 1st. Of course if choose to allow my name into nomination and someone feels led to nominate someone for this post of leadership, I welcome the nominate. I have worked and prayed for more openness in the process. If a contested election was in store in Houston I would trust the people of God to make the right choice for leadership next year.

    I can seek God’s face on the matter, but the final word is in His hands and in the hands of the people which is where it needs to rest.

  4. Terry

    David,
    You have done an awesome job this past year! Thus the attacks. Keep up the good work. There are many who do support you. My prayer is that God’s plans are to have you continue to serve as president of the BGCT. We need you!

    Terry Williams
    Perryton, Texas

  5. Hey David,

    I’m praying for you at the moment. I’m sorry for any attacks that have come your way. I’m thankful for the gracious presence you’ve been on the web. If not for your e-presence, I would have heard nothing of our BGCT President during this year. Your willingness to let yourself out there has brought a sense of transparency that I’ve not sensed before from our leadership.

    Thanks,

    Tim

  6. Jay

    Someone (possibly the president) during my seminary days once said that he made it a practice to first look to see if a letter was signed by a person and if there was no name, he would throw it away without reading it. He said if they can’t sign it, he wouldn’t read it. I don’t know if that helps or not, but I’m sorry for the troubles you’ve faced. It’s been great to hear your reports through this site and to be more informed. Thank you.

  7. This is an astonishing entry. Thank you very much for the supreme post provided! I was looking for this entry for a long time, but I wasnt able to find a trusted source.

Leave a Reply

