Enough to Change the World

Last week I had a brief but very insightful conversation with Bob Roberts, pastor of Northwood Church in Keller, Texas. Bob and I have been friends for over twenty years. Our friendship dates back to when Bob started Northwood, and I was a church planter in Flower Mound. Starting a new church was one of the greatest joys and one of the most difficult struggles of my life. Bob shared the journey with me, and his example inspired me to be at my best. I learn a great deal from watching Bob at work. I especially appreciate his bold abandonment to Kingdom work.

Today Bob is an international leader and his church literally touches the ends of the earth with their ministries and influence. We would all do well to follow his lead in missions and evangelism.

The reason I had called Bob was to visit with him about his relationship with the Baptist General Convention of Texas. In recent years Northwood had invested their mission dollars in their projects around the world, and I hoped to encourage Bob to come join us as we seek to dream new dreams for our work together.

In the course of the conversation Bob began to ask me a series of questions about the BGCT. The dialogue was as follows:

Bob: How many churches do you guys have?

David: Over 5,000 churches

Bob: How many members of those churches?

David: We have over two million on the rolls, but probably closer to a million in active participation.

Bob: How big is your budget?

David: We have over forty million dollars in our budget.

A pause..Bob: You are in position to change the world!

It dawns on me. He’s right! It is hard to move forward looking in the rear view mirror, and it is even harder looking down.

Don’t forget Jesus said to a ragtag handful of disciples and followers on the side of a hill before his ascension to His throne, “All authority in heaven and earth has been given unto me. Therefore go make disciples of ALL NATIONS…” He wasn’t kidding. It’s time to look up and get busy!

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

